top of page


The nervous system,  , is a set of organs and a network of nervous tissues whose basic units are neurons. It has three basic functions: sensory, integrative, and motor. The nervous system as a whole can be subdivided into two systems: the central nervous system (CNS) and the peripheral nervous system (PNS).

The CNS: is connected to sensory receptors, muscles and glands in peripheral areas of the body through the SNP.

The SNP: is formed by the cranial nerves, which are born in the brain, and the spinal or spinal nerves, which are born in the spinal cord. One part of these nerves carries nerve impulses to the CNS, while other parts carry impulses leaving the CNS.

The hypothalamus:  comprises several nuclei that are in connection with the thalamus, brain stem, pituitary gland and cortex._cc781905-5cde-3194-bb3b5cf-1586

It controls the pituitary gland and through it, it becomes an endocrine regulator.

Activates the mechanism of emotional expression.

It excites and integrates the visceral and somatic reactions of emotion.

It intervenes in the control of wakefulness and sleep.

It is the center of thermal regulation of the body.

Controls the metabolism of fats.

Regulates hunger and thirst.

    bottom of page